top of page

Experience of slip casting with vibration


Before I tried the slip casting, I had thought that I will get some interesting detail or distorted shape. But there was two main problem with slip casting:

1: if I want to get the thin thickness of object, there are high risk to take it off from the plaster mould.

if I can not get the ideal thickness, it's very hard to adjust the shape by sound vibration because they are hard and heavy. So either they keep the original shape or be produced some cracks .

2:it's hard to get slip casting objects from plaster mould when they are very soft, but if the objects are not soft, they didn't change shape with sound vibration, they just break down.

For the first problem, Tas suggested me that I could try to directly pour slip on to the plaster mould and turn on the vibration generator, slip might record some detail of vibration rather than liquid wax which to be flat.

For the second problem, I could try to use silicon mould instead of plaster mould. It's more easy to get objects out when they are still soft and keep their in a thin thickness.

 FOLLOW THE ARTIFACT: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
尚無標記。
bottom of page