top of page

Summarize of recent experiments

I tried different materials: starting with liquid wax, pigments, water and non-newtonian fluids.

See how music can be visualized having had no luck with the initial materials- the wax can cool down flat; the pigments made no interesting impact; there was no way of preserving the shapes made by the non-newtonian fluids- I moved on to see how music could affect the shape of a pice of porcelain.

I experimented with different frequency, volume levels different thicknesses and moisture levels of the porcelain, Due to the equipment I had access to, mainly the small bass speaker I was able to get a hold of, the size of the ceramic I could experiment with was seriously limited.

But there are some interesting rules of shapes: low frequency (25Hz<frequency<90HZ) shrink the porcelain piece from the centre, hight frequency( 120Hz>frequency>90HZ) shrink it from the outer ring. the higher frequency will producing more detail.

I've already got the vibration generator which can link with bigger plate and bowl to experience the big size of porcelain and I'll try some 3D objects in the next step as Maiko suggested, such as some small animals or even peoples face. And I'll try soft wax instead of liquid wax which might shaped by sound wave as well. I might try to pour liquid wax on the water to casting the water wave which produced by sound vibration.

 FOLLOW THE ARTIFACT: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
尚無標記。
bottom of page