top of page

Analysis- Eliminated materials

liquid wax--cold too slow, the pattern can not be kept. when it cold down, the patterns between 40HZ to 100HZ are quite similar, patterns are very subtle, it's hard to identify different sound frequency. unless I can find a way to cold wax at a moment. How about nitrogen???

I thought if I take water to the media to convey the sound vibrations, then I can make the wax as thin as possible, it might helpful to get more detail of sound wave pattern. But the outcome without a good looking and it's hard to identify different sound frequency.

The difficult point is:

When I pouring the liquid wax to the water, it's very hard to make the surface keep the same thickness from left to right side, I have to blow the thick side but this action brings seam on the center.

Pigment pattern:

I poured the pigment on to water and attempt to casting the water waves that created by sound. Above image from left to right are the patterns of 40HZ, 80HZ, 160HZ, 250HZ and 300HZ.

The high frequency sound created more details of pattern, but the flat pattern is hard to link with sound and hard to identify sound, how about sinking an 3D object on the bottom of the water, then pour the pigment on the surface of water, play the sound and take off the 3D object at the meantime??? Will the pattern cover the surface of object completely?? Play the birds song to the 3D bird mould; play the traffic noise to the 3D car mould; play humans sound to a 3D face and take them out forum the water, then see the pattern.

If I consider to start with 3D shape, I could try slip casting as well. trying effect the shape when the objects are still soft. I should start from the simple shape such as the cup with decorate line, the ball , the cube......




 FOLLOW THE ARTIFACT: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
尚無標記。
bottom of page